The 6 People I’ll see on earth

Irene - Harrisonburg, Virginia
Entered on September 21, 2008
Age Group: 18 - 30
Themes: family

Something I believe in is my family. They are the most special people I know. Every detail of their lives makes them special to me, and I would not change who they are for any reason.

My Grandma is an amazing woman. She is wise, cheerful, and caring, and has overcome the degenerative disease and death of her husband. Not to forget that she cooks like a god! She is one the best people I know.

My G-ma had four children, and one of her sons is my dad. He inherited her love and compassion and dedication. He can also play the drums, guitar, bass, piano, trombone, and sing. He was a Christian missionary in communist Poland and Czechoslovakia and other European countries for three years. I think that shows just how brave he is.

The next person in my amazing family is my dad’s beautiful bride, my mommy. She has shown more courage and strength in her life than I could. The sudden death of her father when she was 11 sent my Mom’s mom into a downward spiral which left her unable to take care of my mom’s siblings and her, and they were placed into foster care. My mom has also overcome abuse, breast cancer, skin cancer, and having 4 children to become a funny, vibrant, strong woman. She sings like an angel too!

My brother Zach is 25, and really, really ridiculously good-looking! Just ask him, he’ll tell you. He is 5’9”, covered in freckles, and has red hair. He’s played soccer all his life and it was his passion that inspired me to play. He pushed through a bad stress fracture in his back and surgery his senior year in college to fix it. Once he was healed, he kept playing soccer with friends and is into coaching now.

My next brother, Matt, is 24 and won’t hesitate to tell you that he is an amply portioned slice of man-pie! At 6’1” he stands just an inch taller than my dad as tallest in our family, brown hair, no freckles. He lives in Phoenix, is a straight “A” student, and works as a mover/“relocation specialist.” After years of struggling, he overcame a serious drug addiction and, for the last 4 years almost, has worked extremely hard to become the person he is today.

The last person I want to talk about is my 21 year old sister, Alli. She is absolutely beautiful, and so much fun! She’s doesn’t talk a lot, but if you mention Sex and the City, or Buffy, then she’ll open up! Other than the nickname my whole family has for me, Beaner, Alli has her own cute nicknames for me, like heifer and Ike.

My family and I have a bond that is so strong and deep, I can’t explain it. We have been through a lot together, struggles and joy. And they have shown me that I can believe in them.